Freeletics Apps 101

Sometimes I hate the ‘How-to’ manuals, sometimes I don’t. Well, this month I will be doing the Freeletics workout. This is a short review what I hope people will tell me before I started, don’t forget to check the basics of Freeletics here. Call this the Freeletics app manual or how to.

I also feel the need to mention that I am using an iPhone with the app, so I am writing this based on my personal usage of the app.

The app layout

There are like five buttons on the bottom screen which are; the feed, your option menu ( you can pick whether you want to workout, exercise or run), the hire a coach option, your personal profile and the notifications window. So let’s break it down:

  1. The feed

If you are planning to incorporate your friends to compete with you on your progress, you can start by inviting them how you are progressing. Check out which ones of your friends are doing Freeletics as well, or invite them to join you. Just press on the button on the right upper corner.

On your feed menu they usually show what people are doing, like what workout they did and their time. Also the latest workout you did and your time completing the workout.

For every post, you can push the clap button which is a ‘like’ button or even commment on the post.

2. The option menu

There are three options based on what you are forcusing on from workout or exercise or run. If you pick a workout, the list of workouts you can do with Freeltics will pop out and just pick which ever workout you want to do for that day.

Exercise menu

If you decided to pick the exercise menu, you can either pick between endurance, standard or strenght based on your goals. What are the difference?

Endurance exercises are less complex movements to train volume and focus on cardiovascular endurance. This will familiarize you with movements such as crunches, squats, pushups and etc. If any of the movements sounds foreign to you, just press on the text that says what time of workout you are working on, it will download a video.

A standard exercise are the most common exercises that you will be doing and it is suppose to train your strenght and endurance. Train you burpees, pushups, situps and squats training on in this menu!

Strenght exercises does what it says that challenges you to build more muscles, which is a great thing. The more developed muscles you have, the more calories you can burn during your inactive time as well.

Aufmacher-b357ddaf7e5580e59dfd3309ff2814e83. The hire a coach window

With any apps these days I felt they are offering something for free and something more for you to buy, in this case if you need to get more like a personalized experience you can get a coach.

You coach will weekly train you and customize it to your fitness levels and goals, this will boost you to do your maximum performance. I didn’t have the urge to apply for my own coach, but if you feel you need one totally go for it. When you subscribe to a coach, that also means you get to unlock the whole workout.

4. Your personal profile

It keeps track on what workout you did, your PB all your progress.

5. The notifications window

It shows all the nofications the app sends you like what your friends are doing, inspiration from other people’s story, etc. If you want to disable the notification you can disable it from your phone’s settings.

Freeletics app is FREE

The app is self is downloadable through the app store and is free of use, but it does provide an in app purchase option by subscribing to a personal coach. Remember that this OPTIONAL, don’t feel pressured to pay for it, you can squeeze every drop by doing the workouts.

It is not for beginner, so proceed with caution

This is not for beginners, there are a lot of athletes that are using this app, it is challenging enough for them. If you are a beginner please consult a doctor if you have concerns, or try not to force yourself! Listen to your body and don’t ignore the alarms that are triggered, be careful not to cause harm to yourself. Don’t worry about progress, your body will adapt slowly.

What is a good frequency to use the app to get results?

images.jpg小飛

The website did not tell me how many workout I am suppose to do each time, so I decided for myself. Generally I go with 2 to 3 workout circuits for short workouts, it will lasts around 30 minutes more or less.  For example I did 2 Athena and 1 Metis for my first workout with one volume each, I was already feeling the burn when I ended. For longer workouts, I think one is enough, after one round of the Aphrodite is enough for me.

The workout layout looks like the picture above, it times you on how long you need to complete the workout. Press the picture to move to the next movement and press the text to download a video of the movement if you don’t know how to do it. You finish one circuit by completing all the movement, by completing it you will be rewarded with points. Also remember that you can set the volume you want to do, like if you want to do 3 repetition instead you can set it for 3 volume.

It totally up to you though, do what you think you are comfortable doing. Take a rest if you need a rest, although the workouts are recommended to be done with no breaks in between.

  • I think that is all, if I miss anything please let me know. Tell me how your progress as well.
  • Don’t forget I have written a blog for “What is Freeletics?”, check it out here.

Leave a comment